Timecard Deadlines and Time Keeping During the 2019 Winter Recess

As the University's winter recess approaches, we want to provide a list of University designated holidays and recess days, timecard deadlines, and additional information about how staff employees should be completing their timecards during this period. As a reminder, the University's winter recess will take place from Monday, December 23, 2019 - Wednesday, January 1, 2020.

University Designated Holidays and Recess Days for Winter Recess

University Designated Holidays University Designated Recess Days
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Monday, December 23, 2019
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Thursday, December 26, 2019
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 Friday, December 27, 2019
  Monday, December 30, 2019
  Tuesday, December 31, 2019


Timecard Deadlines for the Holiday/Recess weeks:

  • Week of December 8 - 14: timecards must be approved by Noon on Monday, December 16
  • Week of December 15 - 21: timecards must be approved by Noon on Monday, December 23
  • Week of December 22 - 28: timecards must be approved by Noon on Friday, December 27
     

How to Complete Timecards: Standard and Non-Standard Employees

The following is a reminder of the differences between Standard and Non-Standard employees and how this changes the completion of timecards during the winter recess:

Standard Employees: Exempt and Non-Exempt employees that work Monday - Friday, 7.5 or 8 hours per day

  • Holidays are pre-populated on the timecard; however, Recess days are not.
  • All Standard employees must change the 'Hours Worked' line to 'Recess,' regardless of if they work or not.
  • If a Standard employee works on a Holiday/Recess day, in addition to recording 7.5 hours of Recess or Holiday on the day in which they worked, they must also enter 'Recess Worked' or 'Holiday Worked' on their timecard.

The following is an example of how the timecard should be completed for a Standard employee that did not work during the Holiday/Recess weeks:

Hours Type Sun., Dec. 22 Mon., Dec. 23 Tues., Dec. 24 Wed., Dec. 25 Thurs., Dec. 26 Fri., Dec. 27 Sat., Dec. 28
Holiday     7.5 7.5      
Recess*   7.5     7.5 7.5  
Hours Type Sun., Dec. 29 Mon., Dec. 30 Tues., Dec. 31 Wed., Jan 1 Thurs., Jan. 2 Fri., Jan. 3 Sat. Jan. 4
Holiday       7.5      
Recess*   7.5 7.5        
Hours Worked (or other time as appropriate)*         7.5 7.5  

*Note: Since timecards default to Hours Worked on December 23, 26, 27, 30, and 31, the Hours Type for these dates must be changed to the 'Recess Hours' type.
 

Non-Standard Employees: Exempt and Non-Exempt employees that do not work Monday - Friday, 7.5 or 8 hours per day

  • Holidays and Recess days will not be pre-populated on the timecard and must be manually entered.
  • If a Non-Standard employee works on a Holiday/Recess day, they must enter "Recess Worked" and/or "Holiday Worked."


The following Holiday and Recess tools have been developed to assist both employees and supervisors with the completion of timecards for all possible scenarios during the Holiday/Recess weeks:

These tools are also available on all employee timecards.


Questions?

For questions in regards to time keeping during the winter recess, please call the PRISM TRKS helpline at 412-383-8463 or by email at trks@pitt.edu.